St. Mary's Men's Basketball Trio Named to CAC Silver Anniversary Team

St. Mary's Men's Basketball Trio Named to CAC Silver Anniversary Team

York, Pa. – The Capital Athletic Conference is turning 25 this year, and in honor of the league's 25th anniversary, it will be naming a Silver Anniversary Team for all 19 championship sports. On Thursday morning, CAC Commissioner Tom Byrnes announced the 10th CAC Silver Anniversary Team of the year – the men's basketball team.

St. Mary's College of Maryland was represented by three of the program's all-time top 4 scorers – Sheldon Taylor '01 (Owings, Md./Northern), Tyson Lesesne '08 (Edgewood, Md./Edgewood), and Alex Franz '11 (Catonsville, Md./Cardinal Gibbons HS) on the 25-member Silver Anniversary team.

To see the entire CAC Silver Anniversary Men's Basketball Team, click here.

Lesesne and Franz played together during the 2007-08 season, leading St. Mary's to its first-ever trip to the NCAA Division III Championship Tournament in 2008. The Seahawks advanced to the Third Round (Round of 16) after gaining the program's second CAC tournament championship title in 2008.

Taylor was inducted into the St. Mary's Athletic Hall of Fame in 2006 after receiving the program's first-ever All-America selection in 2000-01. The 6-1 forward was a four-year letter winner (1997-2001) who was named the 2001 CAC Player of the Year as well as the 2001 St. Mary's Male Athlete of the Year after averaging 17.0 points and 9.7 rebounds per contest.

He was selected to the 2001 DIII News All-America Honorable Mention Team as well as the All-Middle Atlantic Region Second Team that same season. Taylor was a second team All-CAC selection in both his sophomore and junior seasons before earning first team honors as a senior. He was the CAC rebounding leader in back-to-back seasons (1999-00 with 10.2 rpg; 2000-01 with 9.7 rpg).

Taylor still owns the single-season record for rebounds with 255 set during the 1999-2000 season while graduating with 571 field goals made which is second all-time. He currently ranks second all-time with 809 rebounds and fourth all-time with 1,454 points.

Lesesne, a three-year letter winner (2005-08) under current head coach Chris Harney, helped the team to their first two winning seasons under Harney (2006-07, 2007-08). The 6-0 guard collected two All-Middle Atlantic Region Third Team selections in 2006 and 2008 plus three All-CAC awards, including first team nods in 2006 and 2008.

A two-year team captain, Lesesne led St. Mary's in scoring throughout his entire three-year career and left as the program's second all-time leading scorer with 1,589 points.

Franz was one of the most decorated players to come through St. Mary's. He was named the 2011 CAC Player of the Year as well as the 2011 Middle Atlantic Region Player of the Year. Franz became just the second Seahawk in CAC history to be named CAC Player of the Year, 10 years after Sheldon Taylor '01 was honored following the 2000-01 season.

The 6-1 guard was also a two-time all-region selection as he earned first team honors in 2011 after being named to the third team in 2010. He also picked up three consecutive selections to the All-CAC first team (2009, 2010, 2011).

Franz helped lead the Seahawks to a four-year record of 91-27 (51-13 CAC) – the best record by any senior class in school history. He undoubtedly left an indelible mark on the men's basketball program, graduating as the school's all-time leader in assists (587) and steals (326) while ranking third all-time with 1,485 points.

About the CAC Silver Anniversary Teams: The CAC Silver Anniversary Teams will be announced early in the regular-season for each respective sport. Each Silver Anniversary Team honoree will receive a commemorative gift from the conference, and many will be recognized by their institution/alma mater at some time during the academic year.

The University of Mary Washington, a charter member of the CAC, led the conference with 153 current and former student-athletes on the Silver Anniversary Teams, including 40 in men's and women's tennis combined. Salisbury University, which joined the CAC in the 1994-95 athletic season, was second with 121 Silver Anniversary Team honorees. CAC charter members York College of Pennsylvania (59) and St. Mary's College of Maryland (35) were next in line for the most Silver Anniversary Team honorees.

The CAC was organized as a six-team affiliation in 1989 and began championship competition with the winter sports during the 1990-91 season. Membership changes in the last decade ultimately created a 10-team conference that has become one of the strongest in NCAA Division III.

CAC teams have won 18 national team championships, and dozens of other teams have finished among the top four in NCAA Division III competition.

Facebook: StMarysAthletics

Twitter: @smcseahawks, @SMCMHoops, #SeahawkAthletics

Instagram: @smcseahawks