Harney and Seahawk Trio Garner Men's Basketball All-Conference Honors

(l.-r.): Coach Harney, Nick LaGuerre, Devin Spencer, Donn Hill
(l.-r.): Coach Harney, Nick LaGuerre, Devin Spencer, Donn Hill

York, Pa. – St. Mary's College of Maryland eighth-year head coach Chris Harney '97 (Point Pleasant, N.J.) was selected as the 2013 Capital Athletic Conference Men's Basketball Coach of the Year for the third time in his career as announced Tuesday morning by league commissioner, Tom Byrnes.

Joining Harney in receiving conference honors were Nick LaGuerre (Baltimore, Md./Lansdowne), Devin Spencer (Baltimore, Md./Towson Catholic), and Donn Hill (Aberdeen, Md./Bel Air). LaGuerre earned first team honors while Spencer and Hill garnered spots on the second team.

Harney is the first Seahawk leader to earn the award more than once, having earned the award previously in 2010 and 2011, while being only the second to be named Coach of the Year as Brock Kantrow nabbed the honor in 2004. In eight seasons, he has mentored the Seahawks to five NCAA Tournament appearances as well as four CAC championship titles. The school's all-time wins leader, Harney currently owns a career record of 160-65 (87-35 CAC) and has coached seven players to 14 all-conference selections.

LaGuerre, a 6-2 sophomore guard, is picking up his first-ever all-star award after lifting St. Mary's to its fifth CAC crown with his game-winning layup with 5.5 seconds left in overtime. He paces the Seahawks in every offensive category. LaGuerre ranks in the top-five in the conference in scoring (13.1 ppg), three-point field goal percentage (44.8%), assists per game (3.8 apg), steals per game (1.9 spg) and blocks per game (0.8 bpg).

This is Spencer's second appearance on the All-CAC Second Team, earning a spot on the same team last season. The 5-11 senior guard is the team leader in assist-to-turnover ratio with 2.3 and free throw percentage (80.3%) while being second in assists per game (3.4 apg) and three-point field goal percentage (42.5%). He ranks top-three in the CAC in assist-to-turnover ratio, assists per game (3.4 apg) and three-point field goal percentage.

In his first year with the Seahawks since transferring in from Cecil College, Hill picked up his first all-conference honor after solid play this season. He ranks top-10 in the league in scoring (12.6 ppg), steals per game (1.3 spg), field goal percentage (52.5%), free throw percentage (74.0%), and blocks per game (0.6 bpg).

St. Mary's (24-3) clinched the conference's automatic bid for its fifth appearance NCAA Division III Men's Basketball Championship Tournament appearance following its 79-78 overtime win over Wesley College this past Saturday. Saturday's win marked the program's fifth overall CAC championship title. The Seahawks will host Massachusetts Institute of Technology (MIT) this Saturday, March 2 in the first round of the NCAA Tournament. Game time is 7:00 pm.

2013 Capital Athletic Conference Men's Basketball All-Conference Teams

First Team

Second Team

Christian Jackson – Sr., G/F, Frostburg State

Sean Armstrong – Fy., F, Mary Washington

Nick LaGuerre – So., G, St. Mary's (Md.)

Tim Harwood – Jr., G, Salisbury

David Langan – Jr., C, Wesley

Donn Hill – Jr., G, St. Mary's (Md.)

Paul Reynolds – Sr., F, Wesley 

Bradley Riester – Jr., G, Mary Washington

Travon Vann – Sr., G, Salisbury

Devin Spencer – Sr., G, St. Mary's (Md.)

CAC Player of the Year: Paul Reynolds, Wesley
CAC Rookie of the Year: Wayne Lennon, Wesley (Fy., G, Whitesboro, N.J./Middle Township)
'Jeff Gamber' CAC Coach of the Year: Chris Harney, St. Mary's (third time, also in '10 and co-winner in '11)

Twitter: http://twitter.com/smcseahawks, #SeahawkNation