Second-Largest Class Ever Inducted into Chi Alpha Sigma

Chi Alpha Sigma Class of 2010
Chi Alpha Sigma Class of 2010

St. Mary’s City, Md. – Last night, the St. Mary’s College of Maryland Department of Athletics and Recreation inducted its second-largest class into the Maryland Beta Chapter of Chi Alpha Sigma, the national college athlete honor society, as 25 new members constituted St. Mary’s seventh induction class.  The induction ceremony was conducted in the movement room at the Michael P. O’Brien Athletics & Recreation Center Thursday evening.

“Congratulations to all of our student-athletes who were inducted into Chi Alpha Sigma last evening.  It is a high honor to be named to the national honor society for college athletes, and as I told the group in my remarks last night, they should be extremely proud of their accomplishments in the classroom and on the athletic side over the course of their time here at St. Mary’s," stated Scott Devine, Director of Athletics & Recreation.  "I know our seniors will wear their Chi Alpha Sigma medallions with great pride during their graduation ceremony next week."

The Chi Alpha Sigma Class of 2004 was the biggest group ever inducted with 30 inductees as 2004 marked the inception of the Maryland Beta Chapter of Chi Alpha Sigma at St. Mary’s.

Chi Alpha Sigma is a nonprofit organization established in 1996 to recognize collegiate student-athletes who earned a varsity letter in at least one sport while maintaining a 3.4 or higher cumulative GPA throughout their junior and senior years.

“Chi Alpha Sigma truly celebrates the intersection of their scholarly and athletic careers,” said Dr. Jeffrey Byrd who serves as the chapter advisor.  Dr. Byrd is also the NCAA Faculty Athletics Representative and professor of biology at St. Mary’s.  “As athletes, they have a unique set of challenges outside of the classroom and I am always impressed at their ability to manage both tracks with such excellence.”

The National College Athlete Honor Society was founded at DePauw University in Greencastle, Indiana on May 17, 1996, by DePauw head football coach and professor of kinesiology, Nick Mourouzis.  Mourouzis recognized that there were many organizations that honored students for outstanding academic or athletic achievements, but none that did both.  Chi Alpha Sigma hopes to bring honor and recognition to deserving student-athletes, their families, teams, athletic departments, and colleges in much the same way as Phi Beta Kappa honors scholastics.

The Chi Alpha Sigma Class of 2010 includes: Drew Barnes (Sr., m. tennis), Elisa Bateman (Jr., w. lacrosse), Will Bell (Jr., m. lacrosse), Sam Burum (Jr., m. basketball), Bobby Corton (Jr., baseball), Katie Cox (Jr., field hockey), Mark Dattilio (Jr., baseball), Kate David (Sr., w. tennis), Chris Fearey (Jr., m. cross country), Christi Ford (Jr., w. cross country), Colin Gload (Jr., m. lacrosse), Nick Ibello (Jr., m. soccer), Kyle Jarczynski (Jr., m. basketball), Johann Jones (Jr., m. basketball), Claire Kodan (Jr., volleyball), Lyle Kralle (Sr., baseball), Franny Kupersmith (Jr., sailing), Ryan O’Malley (Jr., field hockey), Meredith Powlison (Jr., sailing), Dennis Rosson (Jr., m. lacrosse), Adam Shenk (Jr., baseball), Megan Tracy (Jr., field hockey), Rosa Trembour (Jr., w. swimming), Arielle Webster (Jr., w. swimming) and John Windsor (Jr., m. lacrosse).

The Department also recognized 13 Chi Alpha Sigma members who were inducted at last year’s induction ceremony: Kaitlin Boswell (Sr., w. soccer); Amanda Bramble (Sr., field hockey); Kelsey Branch (Sr., w. lacrosse); Brianne Carroll (Sr., w. soccer); Karisa Carroll (Sr., w. soccer); Michelle Compton (Sr., w. tennis); Nora Fallon-Oben (Sr., w. lacrosse); Jenn Feldmann (Sr., volleyball); Jon Gill (Sr., baseball); Rachel Hotchko (Sr., w. swimming); Kenny Nugent (Sr., m. tennis); Laura VanBlargan (Sr., w. swimming); and Sara Morgan Watters (Sr., sailing).